Unlock the Muse – November 7, 2018

I haven’t got off to a very good start for NaNoWriMo this November. It is perhaps my worst NaNo start ever in my nine years of participating in this event. I’m confident things will change, however as the month progresses and the story really begins to take off. I haven’t lost a NaNo yet, and I don’t intend to start now.

Inspire
If you’re looking for inspiration, here’s your writing prompt for this week:

Remember your favorite summertime activity, and describe it in vivid detail. How old were you? Where did it take place?

Let yourself get caught up in the memory. Explore every aspect of it – sights, sounds, smells. Who was with you? And what were you wearing?

Now put yourself in your character’s head and write her memories just the same way. Taste the salt in the coastal wind. Hear the cry of an owl in the deep woods at night. Smell the press of unwashed bodies on that crowded city street.

Encourage
Need a short break from the mad rush of NaNoWriMo? Take a moment to check your NaNo horoscope and get a personalized writing prompt!

Equip
The question of the month for this November is: What is your greatest writing challenge? And what do you do to overcome it?

For me, it is probably the allure of something new. I am forever distracted by that “shiny new idea” lurking just around the next corner. While I have yet to overcome this challenge, I do work hard at pushing myself to stick with just one project at a time.

Happy writing!

Please consider sharing a link to your response to the writing exercise. Got a question? Just ask!

One thought on “Unlock the Muse – November 7, 2018

  1. Pingback: Unlock the Muse – November 7, 2018 — TAwrites | paradoxicalsuds

Leave a comment