What I’m Reading – February 2022

I’m off to a good start with my 2022 Reading Challenge so far. January was a busy reading month and I feel like I’ve accomplished quite a bit. Though I haven’t exactly stuck with my challenge reading, I am somehow still on track to complete it on time.

Finished…
There were six challenge books I planned to read, or at least start, in January. Of those, I finished three, and I have started the others. Besides the books listed on my January list, I also finished six more.

Cherokee Stories of the Turtle Island Liars’ Club, by Christopher B. Teuton, was the first challenge book I finished in the new year. I thoroughly enjoyed this book even though it wasn’t quite what I’d anticipated. I wouldn’t mind having a copy of this book for my own shelves so I could refer to it again.

After finishing this book, I moved on to Brothers of the Wind, by Tad Williams. I read this one next in order to complete the Popsugar challenge prompt “a book whose title begins with the last letter of your previous read.” Tad Williams is one of my favorites authors of all time, and I had to find a place for this book in the challenge. I’m so glad I did. I loved it!

I moved on to other library books after that, several short middle grade novels that were pretty quick reads. I finished The House on Mango Street, by Sandra Cisneros. Not my favorite, but I enjoyed it. She has a beautiful style of writing. I have been revisiting my own childhood favorites, and I continued my journey through the Trixie Belden books, by Julie Campbell, finishing both The Mysterious Visitor and The Mystery Off Glen Road.

I also finished The Eye of the World, by Robert Jordan, book one of the Wheel of Time series. I was drawn right back into this world and I finished reading this book faster than I expected. I also finished season one of the television show adapted from this series. I’m still undecided how I feel about the changes that were made to the storyline.

My eldest son has allowed me to read several of my challenge books with him, and together we finished reading Hatchet, by Gary Paulsen and Holes, by Louis Sachar. Both of these books were a lot of fun. Though, my son has developed a survivalist obsession and now wants to go live in the woods on his own.

Finally, I started and finished my first audiobook for the year, A Christmas Carol, by Charles Dickens. I have seen movie and cartoon adaptations of this classic story many times, but have never read the original story. I’m glad I chose the audio version of this book, as it lends itself well to the dramatic production.

In Progress…
My “jam jar” read, The Once and Future King, by T. H. White, has proven more difficult to stick with than I thought. I’m enjoying it, but it isn’t holding my attention with all the other books I want to read right now. I will finish it, however. Hopefully soon.

I’m also continuing to read through The Mark of Athena, by Rick Riordan, with my middle child. With only a chapter or two each night, I knew this would be slow going. But we’re nearing the end, and will soon move on to the next book of the series (though that one didn’t managed to make it onto my challenge list). And with my eldest, we have moved on to The One and Only Ivan, by Katherine Applegate.

Finally, I did start The Murmur of Bees, by Sofia Segovia, my first ebook choice for 2022. It took me a while to start because I was hoping to first finish another ebook that I’ve been working on for far too long. In the end, I decided to set that one aside for now so I can work on my challenge books.

Up Next…
And now it is time to set the goal for February reading. Along with what I’m already in the middle of I have my next round of books lined up for this month – everything from angels to zombies.

To start, my middle child has selected The Dirty Streets of Heaven, by Tad Williams, from the jam jar. I am really excited to read this one. As I’ve mentioned, Tad Williams is one of my favorite authors. This series is one I didn’t know about for a long time, and I can’t wait to get into it.

I’m anxious to begin the next Wheel of Time book, The Great Hunt, by Robert Jordan. I need to keep up with what is happening in the lives of my friends Rand al’Thor, Egwene al’Veare, Perrin Aybara, Mat Cauthon and all the others.

From the library, I have three books on hold. I’ve just picked up Dread Nation, by Justine Ireland. Hopefully, my hold for You Should See Me In a Crown, by Leah Johnson, will come available soon. Finally, I’ll continue the Trixie Belden series with The Mystery In Arizona, by Julie Campbell.

Next up on my ebook list is The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet, by Becky Chambers. And if I can squeeze in an audiobook, it will be The Fated Sky, by Mary Robinette Kowal.

So as of the end of January, I am at 3 of 50 for the Popsugar challenge and 6 of 52 for the Around the Year challenge. I’m enjoying my reads so far, some more than others. So many good books still to come!

What are you reading?

Leave a comment