2017 Reading Challenge: The Year of the Series

I began this blog with a list of books I had chosen to read in response to a reading challenge that gave me twelve categories to fill with a book to read. Thus, it seems the appropriate thing to do to begin my second year of blogging with a similar post. It’s a new year, and I’ve put together a new list of books I intend to read in the coming months. If things go at all the way they did in 2016, this will not be all that I read. My goal is to read even more than I did in 2016.

Finding this 2016 Reading Challenge was a brilliant stroke of luck at just the moment I was trying to start this blog. It gave me something to focus on for an entire year, so I always had a least something I would be able to write about as I tried to determine my place in the blogging world. It also gave me the chance to practice writing book reviews, and to learn to think critically about what I was reading.

The list also provided a challenge for me, making me stretch my reading abilities and push myself to read even more. While to many readers, a mere twelve books in a year would be nothing at all, but for myself, having read only eleven books in 2015, this felt like a good goal to pursue. And, as it turns out, twelve books was only the beginning of what I would read in 2016. I did, in fact, double that goal, reading twenty-five books.

I ended up reading some interesting, and often surprising books. Most of the books I chose for the Challenge came off my already impossibly long “to be read someday” list of books. So in that respect I accomplished something I might not otherwise have done.

As 2016 wound to an end, I began looking for a new reading challenge list for 2017. I didn’t run across one that I thought would work for me, at least not in the same way the list for 2016 did. So instead, I looked at my book shelves and I began pulling out books I’ve been collecting for too long unread. It turns out, a large number of my books are a part of a series, and so, I have declared 2017 to be the year of the series. I have chosen seventeen books that I’ve been meaning to read, or in one case, reread. All of which, are part of a series of at least three books.

A couple are by authors I’ve read before, Tad Williams and Brandon Sanderson. Three are a continuation of books I read in 2016, C. S. Lewis, Susan Dennard and Patrick Rothfuss. I decided to reread the Harry Potter series after binge watching the movies. And the others are books that in one way or another drew my attention and sparked my curiosity whether by their popularity, good reviews, by the movies that were made from them, or by some other means.

Having narrowed my choices down to seventeen books, I now had the dilemma of what order to put them in. I want to read all of them. Now. But, since I have to start somewhere, I sought input from my sister. She suggested I start with the Shadowhunter series by Cassandra Clare, as it’s one of her current favorites.

So, beginning with City of Bones, I put the books on my shelf in a sort of rainbow order, for lack of any other order that made any sense. The colors aren’t quite right to make a true rainbow (see the photo above), but it’s close enough. Here’s what I came up with:

City of Bones – Cassandra Clare
Game of Thrones – George R. R. Martin
Red Rising – Pierce Brown
I Am Number Four – Pitticus Lore
The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo – Stieg Larsson
The Aeronaut’s Windlass – Jim Butcher
The Maze Runner – James Dashner
The Lightning Thief – Rick Riordan
The Golden Compass – Philip Pullman
The Selection – Kiera Cass
Shadowmarch – Tad Williams
Prince Caspian – C. S. Lewis
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone – J. K. Rowling
Mistborn – Brandon Sanderson
Throne of Glass – Sarah J. Maas
Windwitch – Susan Dennard
Wise Man’s Fear – Patrick Rothfuss

The real challenge for me in reading through this list, will be not getting caught up in the series. I can see myself not wanting to stop with just the one book, but needing to finish the entire series before moving on. In some cases that will be impossible as the series isn’t finished yet. But it will be interesting to see which ones I can set aside after one book, and which ones will demand I read everything available.

This then, is my reading list for 2017. Seventeen books. All part of a larger series. Five by women authors, twelve by men. Most were published since 2005, a little more than half of them in the last ten years. It’s an ambitious list, as it in essence contains upwards of sixty books.

At first glance there doesn’t seem to be a lot of variety in the choices I’ve made. Most of the books are in the fantasy genre, and more specifically, young adult fantasy. Still, a list that contains authors such as C. S. Lewis, J. K. Rowling and George R. R. Martin certainly won’t be boring. I’m excited to get started on this list. And I can’t wait to see what surprises come my way as the year progresses.

With that, let me say, Happy New Year! Happy 2017! Happy reading!

3 thoughts on “2017 Reading Challenge: The Year of the Series

  1. Pingback: 2017 Reading Challenge, Reprise – TAwrites

  2. Pingback: The Golden Compass, by Philip Pullman: A Review – TAwrites

Leave a Reply

