My Thoughts on the Election

The election is over, the decision has been made. Today we have a new decision to make. How will you choose to respond?

This morning I had to discipline my child for his inappropriate behavior. He was lashing out at me for a perceived injustice. I had to take away a special privilege as I tried to explain to him that each of us has the ability and the responsibility to choose our actions.

I’m not going to pretend I have any authority, or right, to reprimand anyone else for their behavior. I myself have been guilty of indulging in childish pettiness. But now, following this hotly debated and bitterly divisive election, we now have a new decision to make.

Today people are grieving. They are angry. They are frightened. Many may feel the need to lash out against a perceived injustice. It’s a natural human response to fear.

But I would ask you – us – to make a different choice. Regardless of how you feel about the election results, I urge patience instead of haste, caution where fear would take the lead, and above all respect and kindness instead of hatred.

Fear begets fear. Hatred gives birth to hatred. The only way to stop this vicious cycle is to respond in love, courage, kindness and respect. We cannot change others, only ourselves.

I didn’t write this with the intention of changing anyone’s mind. Rather I sat down to write this to change myself. To take charge of my own response to this election. There is much I am angry about. There is much I have been fearful over. Today, however, I have a new choice to make. And I choose to stand up and be brave. To show love. To honor and respect the office of the President of the United States.

Real change starts here. With me. In how I choose to respond. I choose to stand for truth. For love. For respect. For honesty. For courage.

Leave a Reply

