A Promise Delayed

Back in July, I made a promise to you, my readers, that I would write and share a new short story. You helped me decide which story to write first by telling me which one you most wanted to read.

I wrote the story in July. I rewrote it in August, filling in holes I’d left in the plot and working on character inconsistencies. In September, I sent the story to a handful of beta readers and anxiously awaited their input.

Now, here it is October, and I still have not shared the story with you. My promise remains unfulfilled. I assure you, however, it is merely delayed, not broken. I appreciate your patience as I learn my way through this process of writing, rewriting, reading, more rewriting, editing and ultimately publishing a story.

The process has been harder than I expected in some ways. The hardest part has been to come up with a reasonable time line and consistently work my way through it. All while trying to maintain forward momentum on my other projects as well.

Just like my short story, I am a work in progress. I’m learning as I go, and each day presents a new challenge to overcome. But I am learning, I will overcome, and next time, things will be a little easier.

I have not forgotten my promise to you. October is my birthday month. I can’t think of a better time to officially become a published fiction writer. I’m working very hard to make this story the best it can be. Shattered will be arriving soon. I promise!

One thought on “A Promise Delayed

  1. Pingback: Chasing a Dream: A Year in Review – TAwrites

Leave a Reply

