Is It Done Yet? Now? How About Now?

Unfinished.

This is something I unfortunately know more about than I’d like. I’m in the middle of a novel that I’ve been writing since 2010. It’s nearly finished. Sort of. I wrote the first 50,000 words in the frenzy of my first National Novel Writing Month experience.

I then found that after November ended, it was difficult to maintain any sort of writing routine. And impossible to keep up the same frenetic pace of November. I managed to add another 25,000 words, or so, over the course of the next year, but it was extremely slow going.

The next November I started a new novel. The idea behind NaNoWriMo is that you write a new novel rather than work on one you are already invested in. This is a good idea, and one I typically try to adhere to. However, I now had two unfinished novels clamoring for my attention.

In the years since I began the first novel I found myself bombarded with new, shiny novel ideas. I’ve started a number of projects that remain incomplete. I have completed two novels – an adult sci-fi and a middle-grade adventure – but the original novel remains incomplete.

I haven’t abandoned the novel, and it continues to grow and develop, even when I’m not actively working on it. I made this novel my Camp NaNo project in July 2015 and have added another 50,000 words. However, in the time between first starting this project, and now, new developments have rendered the first half badly in need of rewriting. Like world changing new developments.

Now, despite the conflicting interests of multiple writing projects, I have made this novel my priority. I am more determined than ever to see it through to completion. I’ve already committed to making this my project for this year’s NaNoWriMo (yes, I’m publicly declaring my rebellion!).

I’m committed to finishing this novel. I’d like this to be the November I write “the end.” I’m ready to finish and move on. I’ve got an outline of the first half of the novel that needs to be rewritten. I’m working on character profiles. I have investigated map making software in order to put together a map of my fictional world. All the pieces are in place. It’s time to make this dream a reality.

Manuscript

Now?

2 thoughts on “Is It Done Yet? Now? How About Now?

  1. Pingback: Working To Completion: Celebrating a Work-in-Progress – TAwrites

  2. Pingback: Chasing a Dream: A Year in Review – TAwrites

Leave a Reply

