D is for Deadbeat, by Sue Grafton: A Review

This is one of those books I picked up from a random collection available at my workplace intended to be shared and enjoyed by many. I knew about Sue Grafton and her alphabet series of detective novels featuring private investigator, Kinsey Millhone. I had read her first one, A is for Alibi, and liked the book just fine, but wasn’t overly excited about it. Considering how popular these books are in the general fiction market, I remember being vaguely disappointed.

Still, her books remain wildly popular, and she is now up to the letter X. I decided to give the series another chance and picked this one up.

I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed this book. Grafton writes from the first person perspective of her protagonist, Kinsey Millhone, a private investigator. The story opens when Kinsey is hired by a man to find someone and deliver a sizable check. When her retainer fee bounces, and she goes looking for the man who hired her, he turns up dead.

A considerable number of suspects emerge as Kinsey investigates the death of this man, all of whom are plausible. The story had me guessing all the way through, and still, I was surprised by the ending. I feel like I actually put the pieces together along with the investigator, her doubts and misgivings mirrored my own.

In all, an enjoyable read. And I will not be so hesitant in the future to pick up more by this author. In fact, I believe I picked up another at the same time I found this one…

3 thoughts on “D is for Deadbeat, by Sue Grafton: A Review

    1. I read the first of her “alphabet books,” A is for Alibi, and didn’t enjoy it as much as I’d hoped given her reputation. But I enjoyed this one much more. Also, she won awards for the second and third of the series, so I’m betting she just gets better and better!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

